Brownie Points

This is the boyfriend, Michael.

And right now, he is one stressed young man.

He is also working on a Masters degree (I know, I know we are a power couple) and his online Risk Management Class is

in-tents. (INTENSE)

I found out when he came over at 11:30 last night for a study session and I was throughout lost and confused trying to help him.

Plus, he just got a new job working at an afternoon school program and the paperwork is horrible.

So he is stressed. And I HATE seeing him like this.

And if I ask him if there is anything I can do to help, of course, he says NOTHING.

But I want those brownie points, the good girlfriend glorification, and I guess I truly wanna make him smile.

So after class I made him his favorite sweet

M&M and Caramel-Dipped Apples.

Super easy and a nice and messy treat.

Simply take some clean apples. (I choose Gala).

Melt about a bag of caramels with 1.5 tablespoons of water. I do this in the microwave and just keep a close eye on it.

(BTW, a whole bag of caramels is for like 6 apples. I just know Mike likes his caramel :))

Dip Apples into Caramel and swirl.

Place apples on a wax paper or tin foiled covered plate. I suggest also spraying the pan with some sort of cooking spray or even using some butter.

Then throw (literally, I throw them) M&Ms on.

Place in Fridge!

Resist the urge to dig in until the caramel has set.

Enjoy

πŸ™‚

But I also made a nutritous dinner for him.

Chicken Sausage mixed with some red sauce and whole wheat pasta.

I am slowly moving me healthy eating on him πŸ™‚ wish me luck!

Sadly, I did not dress nicely for him.

Instead of looking like this:

Presentable, mature looking and smooth hair.

(btw this is the typical attire for teaching and whatnot for me)

He got this:

A Hot Mess.

Atleast I brought food and smile πŸ™‚

Do I deserve some brownie points?

Tagged

10 thoughts on “Brownie Points

  1. YES!! You totally do, that is a quick and simple idea but so sweet (in more than one way πŸ˜‰ haha!) I bet his heart melted!

  2. Um YES, yes you deserve brownie points! Those apples look ridiculous! I have never made my own caramel apples but you have inspired me! Amazing.

  3. Rachel says:

    you deserve so many brownie points! i love caramel apples… though the one time i tried to make them was an epic fail. i like to stick to caramel apple pie πŸ™‚

  4. YES of course you do! I have never made my own caramel apples.. ought to try soon though, these look great

  5. Balaila says:

    Hi! Lurker here, I just stumbled upon your blog after reading the entire thing – feeling the connection of recovery and several aspects – I read your story and practically screamed. I am currently seventeen years old and extremely interested in pursuing a career path in special education (more so early childhood) anyways! I am so so so confused on the steps that are necessary for this – beside the completion of an associates degree of course! Okay…my point – okay if you are not terribly busy (or annoyed at my long winded message) I was wondering if it could be a possibility of you telling me how you pursued your education – not step by step, but certain things you did while in school, extra classes, distinctive things. I guess the main question is – what advice would you give to someone going to school looking to be a special educator. Thank you in advance – regardless, I wish you nothing but rainbows and unicorns!! You are too sweet and sincere for such frequent horrid feelings!

    • Hi! So sorry to take so long to get back to you but honestly, classes have been hectic and I really wanted to spend time responding to you! First thing, I am so happy to find someone who is interested in Special Education. This is not just a career for me but a passion in life of mine so I could easily talk about it all day long! My first recommendation would be to start researching colleges that offer special education programs. I picked FSU for the program, hands down. I even had scholarships to other schools but FSU had the program I wanted/needed. And get your name around with the advisors for that program. I was probably your age went I meet the advisor for the college of education at FSU at a college preview and expressed my interest in special ed. It was almost a year later when I was picking out my classes that he remembered me, because the field doesn’t get as much attention, and directed me who to talk to! Before college, get some experience. Especially with this field. Many are not quite sure what to expect in the classroom and you have to make sure this is for you. I found ways in HS to work in ESE class there and also to volunteer in the local middle school. Becoming a big “brother” also really helped to prepare me for different populations. Experience, experience experience.
      When you are working on your first two years of colleges you will likely take liberal arts classes and fulfill all the college requirements before beginning education classes. There will also probably be some pre-req education classes, but all are pretty simple ( I have heard this throughout colleges). I kept my GPA high and obtained a minor in Pyschology before starting the ESE program. If the college doesn’t require it, take Psych anyways. I assure you it will come in handy. I also spent a lot of time volunteering. My college has a lot of programs that place mentors in local schools and this was an amazing opportunity. Part of it was to network and part of it was to gain that much needed experience. If I could go back, I would have done even more volunteering/tutoring. You want to be able to enter your classes with knowledge and confidence. And always request to be placed with those with disabilities. Usually this quickly and happily obliged to because not many people seek out the more difficult cases.
      But most of all, be flexible. I promise that when you walk into different classrooms, you are going to form opinions that will affect whether this is what you want to do. I know many girls who started off wanting to be an education major and found their passion somewhere else. There is so many ways you can get involved in the education system (gen ed, sp ed, speech-pathologist, behavior analyst, school psychologist, art teacher, therapist, etc) and you just need to get yourself in the classroom to figure it out. I promise that experience is way more important than the actual classes.
      Good luck with everything and please feel free to email me amj08e@my.fsu.edu, if you have any more questions!

      • Balaila says:

        omg! Thank you so much – you have no idea how much you have helped me. I will begin searching for the necessary programs and activities immediately, I will definitely be emailing you – thank you for taking time out of a busy schedule OMG just thank you!!!

Let me know what you think :)

