First Day of School

Lets be real: The first day of school is just weird, no matter how old you are.

I was always the girl who was so excited for the 1st day of school and could hardly sleep the night before. Once entering college, there was no difference. I thought it would be different this year since I knew all the girls but I was still super excited and anxious. Three reasons why: a) i love the girls in my class and couldn’t wait to be reunited b) I look completely different, gained maybe 30 pounds and was just waiting for someone to tell me I was fat c)my anxiety levels for school begin upon sitting in the first class.

a) and c) were completely spot on but of course, no one told me I was fat. I told my whole class that I was recovered from an eating disorder and healthy for the first time in 2 years and got a round of applause that brought tears to my eyes.

The day in the life of a college Student, so far. (before adding in practicum and all other field work)

8:30 AM– The day started with a banana-blueberry smoothie

One frozen banana

One container low-fat blueberry yogurt

1/2 Scoop of vanilla protein

1 handful of ice cubes and some water

 

 

9:15- 10:20– GYM! 50 minutes on the elliptical after a quick 1 miles warm-up run

Speaking of GYM! Guess who did something crazy?

Was it academic suicide to decide to add marathon training to the mix of things?

In one night I signed up for my first 5K and first half-marathon!

First Half-Marathon- February 5th πŸ™‚

I have been wanting to do a marathon since I started running after high-school. I cannot hide the fact of how excited I am. It seems especially important since I could never run a marathon sick. I must keep this up to be strong enough to

Expect to see lots and lots of talk of this on here. I have so much time to prepare but I want to do a full marathon by the time I start my graduate year so I treating this training as if I am running much more than 13.1 miles, which is still an impressive amount.

If it was easy, everyone would do it.

10:30-12:00: Get ready and dressed, drive roommate to campus, stop of CVS (best place to kill time)

12:15- 1:00: Lunch at Moes! Love that place. Today I got a huge personal trainer, streaker, with black beans. For those Moes addicts, you know what I am saying! I ate with some of the lovely ladies of the ESE FSU 2013 cohort!

1:20- 6:30: CLASS. Yep, you read that right. Two classes that each last entirely too long. (my poor butt for sitting too long). All my classes this semester are 2 and half hours long meeting only once a week. I will survive (in Gloria Gayners voice) was playing through my head all day.

7:00: Finally made it home. Tallahassee traffic is not friendly. Made dinner in stages, eating each stage as I went. Sweet Potato Fries= Heaven. Cucumber and Carrots covered in garlic= Lover.Chicken burger= yummy!

7:30-8:00: Random cleaning and school stuff. Blah.

8:00- 8:45: Blog Reading. Blog Stalking, Blog Preparing. Blog posting.

9:00—?: Let’s be real (Again): Probably bed.

Goodnight and Sweet Dreams!

Wish me luck with marathon training and getting an education πŸ™‚

Tagged , ,

6 thoughts on “First Day of School

  1. cjh002 says:

    I just found your blog through a comment on Tessa’s! COngratulations on two years of recovery! That is seriously amazing and if you can accomplish that, you can definitely run a marathon and do well in school! cant wait to read more!

    • amj08e says:

      Ah actually I have only been in recovery for 5 months after two years of full blown ED! But I love the idea of two years of recovery! just stalked your blog and thought it was great. Thanks for the motivation and reading πŸ™‚

  2. I always love the first day of school πŸ™‚ I just had my first class yesterday and I’m super stressed already, but it’ll all be worth it! Good luck with classes and training!!!!

  3. pbbrittany says:

    Congratulations on signing up for your first half marathon! I can’t wait to read about how it goes.
    You started running after you graduated HS?? So did I! πŸ˜›

    • amj08e says:

      Thanks so much! Love the support πŸ™‚
      Yeah, after HS I really got into staying fit. In HS, I was the most nonathletic person around- I didn’t even own sneakers!

Let me know what you think :)

